an employee-owned company

OTC Awards Stress Engineering’s Dr. Ray Ayers the Heritage Award

HOUSTON, TX. (February 16, 2015) – Stress Engineering Services’ Dr. Ray R. Ayers, P.E., will be receiving the Offshore Technology Conference’s (OTC) Heritage Award at this year’s upcoming conference in May. The award recognizes Ayers for his 50+ years in offshore research and development contributions to the industry through joint-industry programs he formed at Shell and R&D which were performed for the Pipeline Research Council International, DeepStar, the Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement, and Research Partnerships to Secure Energy for America.        

With significant advances early in his career, Ayers and his expertise became highly demanded.  He is noted for performing early 12-inch pipe bending/buckling pressure vessel tests from 1968 to 1970 when “deep” water was only 1000 feet. In 1970, he developed the Offshore Oil Spill Cleanup Methods and Equipment following the GOM oil spill. From 1974 to 1989, Ayers developed deepwater pipeline, riser, and connector systems, forming the basis for current-day deepwater pipelining fundamentals. One key development was the Auger TLP steel Catenary Riser (SCR).

Additionally, Ayers is noted for organizing, funding and managing, and facilitating 12 different industry groups (JIPs) from 1974 to 1989 to develop technical solution for deepwater oil and gas pipeline systems which formed the basis for current-day deepwater pipeline technology. He has recently designed and facilitated industry workshops to develop subsea tieback Hydrotest Guidelines and to transfer fiber robe technology to industry for BSEE.  

With a career involving multiple successful contributions in numerous areas, Ayers has played a crucial role in the safety and viability of our industry. It is for the entirety of this work that he will be receiving the 2015 Heritage Award from the Offshore Technology Conference.

Ayers has a Ph.D. degree in Civil Engineering from the University of Houston. Throughout his career, he has been awarded 49 patents, numerous technical and leadership awards, including the “Engineer of the Year” award from the American Gas Association in 1993.